Kids Doing Rad Stuff: Kanoa and Kalani

 

How old are you?

Kanoa: I’m 10 years old
Kalani: I’m 7 years old.

Where are you from? 

Kanoa & Kalani: We are from a city call Gangneung, in South Korea.

Tell us a little bit about your family …

Kanoa & Kalani: Our dad grew up in Vancouver, Canada and came to South Korea in 2001.  He loves to surf, play basketball and SUP and hang-out with us all the time.  He is also the first person to introduce Stand-up paddling to Korea. Our mom is an elementary school teacher.  She loves to surf and go to the beach.  She was also a gymnast on the South Korean National team.

What are your favourite subjects at school?

Kanoa: My favourite school subject is P.E.
Kalani: My favourite school subject is Art.

Do you have a favourite animal?

Kanoa: My favourite animal is our pet dog, CoCo. But I also like Cheetahs and owls.
Kalani: 
My favourite animals are cheetahs and white tigers.

If you could talk to animals, what is something you would tell them?

Kanoa: I would tell them to not to eat plastic and stay away from humans.
Kalani:  I’d tell them not to fight.

If you could have a superpower, what would it be?

Kanoa: I would like to fly and have control over machines and people’s mind.
Kalani: I would like run fast like the Flash.

What are some of your favourite activities to do?

Kanoa: I love to play soccer, skateboard, ride my bike, run, and stand-up paddle surf.
Kalani: I love to go inline skating, ride my bike, and go stand-up paddling with my dad.

What do you like to do for fun?

Kanoa: I love to play outside with my friends and catch bugs with my dad.
Kalani: I love to play UNO with my dad, mom and brother.

Who inspires you?

Kanoa: John John Florence, Usain Bolt, Lionel Messi, and Tony Hawk inspire me.
Kalani: 
I want to be like my dad’s friend Jae-Ho because he can SUP surf well.

How often do you get to go surfing or paddling? 

Kanoa & Kalani: We can only go surfing and paddling when the weather is warmer.  So that means in the late Spring, Summer and early Fall. We usually, we go to the beach at least twice a week to play, surf or SUP during the summer months or when there are waves.

What is your favourite thing about the ocean?

Kanoa & Kalani: We love the waves!  We love to surf, SUP, bodyboard and play at the beach with our dad.

Tell us a little bit more about your beach clean ups…

Kanoa & Kalani: Beach Clean ups are fun! We usually pick up at least three pieces of trash each time we go to the beach.  But when we also do community beach clean-ups that my dad helps to organize, we will spend about 3 hours picking up garbage off the beach and surrounding areas.

Who do you usually clean the beach with?

Kanoa & Kalani: We also clean the beach with our dad.  Sometimes we will pick-up trash with the local expats in our community.

What do you do to tell other people about plastic pollution?

Kanoa & Kalani: We tell them not to use plastic and to avoid/refuse to buy plastic bottles and other single-use plastic items.

If you could change anything in the world, what would you change?

Kanoa & Kalani: We would replace all unnecessary single-use plastic items into re-usable items.